1. Vladimir Dinets 5 years ago

    There is no complete consensus, but looks like there are 4 species: camelopardalis (incl. antiquorum, peralta and rothschildi), reticulata, tippelskirchi (incl. thornicrofti), and giraffa (incl. angolensis).

  2. Theo Linders 5 years ago

    This is the most recent paper on Giraffe taxonomy (and also the one Vladimir was referring to):

  3. Chris Roche 5 years ago

    Best up to date reference is these guys who have driven a lot of the genetic analysis:

    Now regarded as 4 species:
    1. Southern Giraffe (including Angolan & South African subspecies)
    2. Masai Giraffe (including Thornicroft’s which is no longer recognized as a distinct subspecies)
    3. Reticulated Giraffe
    4. Northern Giraffe (including Nubian, Rothchild’s, Kordofan & West African)

  4. Author
    Simon Reece 5 years ago

    Thanks, helpful and appreciated.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



©2022 Jon Hall. | | | | Privacy Policy

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account